• image

BC Supreme Court rules that the western boundary of Treaty 8 is the Arctic-Pacific divide

  1. Map - Treaty 8 - 1900

The Honourable Mr. Justice Johnston of the British Columbia Supreme Court issued his decision today, confirming for all of us what Treaty 8 First Nations already knew:

The western boundary of Treaty 8 is the height of land along the continental divide
between the Arctic and Pacific watersheds (the Arctic-Pacific divide).

Read the full judgment here: West Moberly First Nations v British Columbia – Reasons for Judgment.

Posted in:

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *